Ambulance Association

The Hawarden Ambulance

The Hawarden Ambulance Association is a group of trained volunteers dedicated to providing emergency services to Hawarden and surrounding rural community. We provide medical transport to various regional hospitals, are dispatched to medical emergencies and work with the Hawarden Volunteer Fire Department. We are present at various local events that may require our services.


Our volunteer EMS [Emergency Medical Services] agency is made up of dedicated members of the community who provide professional out-of-hospital emergency care. These men and women come from all walks of life to give their time and talents in a team effort to help their community in a truly life-saving mission. We do more than treat and transport the ill and injured, we also promote health & safety throughout the community, while retaining various certification levels through continuing education and training.

Why Volunteer?


Volunteers give Hawarden the ability to keep our ambulance service local.

Learning skills that can truly help others.

Volunteering for your local ambulance service makes a great bullet point on any résumé.

Many training opportunities available.

There is a per-call stipend that is one of the best within the state of Iowa.


You must be at least 18 years old and dependable.

Pass a thorough background check.

Be in general good health.

Live or work within 2 miles of the Hawarden Fire/EMS station.

Be willing to take an EMT certification course when available.

Be willing to maintain that certification once obtained.

Still Interested?

If so, contact Jeff Nohava at 712.551.4450 for more information.

 Our Current Ambulance Roster

Jeff Nohava, Director Kendra VanBuskirk, EMT
Dr. Waddell, Medical Director Brooke Haden, EMT-RN
Payne Allen, Paramedic Becky Reekers, EMT
Eric Anderson, EMT Crystal Hamman, EMT-RN
Patrick Birgess, NEMT Ashley Minor, EMT
Frank Harry, EMT, Treasurer Duane Schiefen, Driver
Frankie Barnes, Driver Mike Schurman, Driver
Sandy Buffington, EMT-RN Malinda Harvey, EMT-RN
Amy Yoerger, EMT Leah Herpst, EMT-RN
Sam Anderson, Driver Myron Dekkers, EMT
Alex Lynott, EMT Alisha McMillan, EMT-Secretary
Maria Estrada, Driver Todd Herpst, Driver
Jodi Plathe, Driver Mark Millage, Driver
Darcy Jurrens, Driver Joe Minor, Driver
Kim Nohava, EMT-RN David Oberlitner, Driver
Shelly Schlumbohm, Driver/Student Shelly Schurman, EMT-RN
Steve Strong, Driver Mario Ramos, Driver
Brittany Laroco, Student Ryan Laroco, Driver
Amber Baker, EMT-RN Jane Reed, EMT-RN
Madison Gray, Student Christopher Rickard, Driver